The Basic Meeting List Toolbox

PROTIP: Why Meetings Are Marked “Closed” By Default

I’ve had a number of folks ask me (sometimes, “ask” is a rather mild term for the manner in which they approach me) why meetings tend to be marked as “Closed” in data dumps and listings.

There’s a very simple, good reason for this:

The VERY WORST thing that can happen to a meeting, or a Service body, is that someone attending a meeting (often, a family member of an addict in attendance) is thrown out of a meeting. They will usually take the person they attended with when they leave, and never return to NA again. They will often also say bad things about NA in many venues.

NOT GOOD.

Compounding this, is that meetings are often held in…less than upscale…neighborhoods, and throwing someone (like a middle-aged, middle-class woman who attended with her teenage daughter) out could actually put them in direct physical danger.

As addicts, we tend to dismiss or gloss over the ramifications of our actions. That’s how we rolled when we were using, and it’s often how we roll in Recovery.

There’s a very simple solution to this: Simply make sure that each meeting is definitively marked as “Open” or “Closed.”

If you don’t know, then it’s a very, very good idea to err on the side of caution.

However, I have now given Server Admins the ability to default to open.

As of Root Server version 2.8.14, if you add the following line to your auto-config.inc.php file:

$g_defaultClosedStatus = FALSE;

It will make the default meeting status “OPEN”. Leaving the line out, or setting it to “TRUE”, will cause the default meeting status to be “CLOSED”.